The Story So Far

I struggled to decide what to call this post. My first instinct was “Back in Black,” but I’m not that big of an AC/DC fan, which led me to “It’s Been a Long Time” because I am a big Led Zeppelin fan, but then I decided to get away from song references and go with a narrative cliché instead. It made the most sense.

If you’ve been to my blog before, welcome back? I haven’t posted in a long time, and there are some good reasons for that, which I will enumerate below. If you’ve never been to my blog before and are somehow reading this, great, here’s like an introduction I guess?

So, my last post was on… October 21, 2014. Over a year ago. So, in that time I finished my master’s thesis in history, got an article published in Wayfinder #11, finished watching Star Trek: Deep Space Nine (the best trek), moved to Seattle, attended PaizoCon and GeekGirlCon, and published a supplement for Broken Earth (which was the number 1 selling item on RPGNow.com the day after it debuted). I also killed Owen Street Press, LLC with fire, mostly because I was moving across the country and that was the easiest way to deal with it, but because I frankly founded that company way too early. I haven’t figured out if I’ll be starting a new company out here yet; we’ll see if it’s a good idea or not. I won’t go into the details of that for now, probably in a later post though.

I also now own a Star Trek: The Next Generation hoodie (command red) and bathrobe (operations gold). This is important. This means something.

So this is no longer a “company” website but simply my own blog which, let’s face it, it pretty much was anyway. I do plan on talking about my projects on here (to the extent that I’m willing or able to share information about them), and writing posts about game design and gaming in general. I’ll probably stay away from politics and social issues, because I don’t think this is the right venue for them, but if they’re applicable they might still come up. Same goes for social theory or history stuff, which actually will have a significant impact on my design (and has had a significant impact on my political and social views).

No promises about quantity or, frankly, quality of posts, but I’m going to aim for a Monday/Wednesday/Friday schedule for now, and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

